Know Our Teeth From Birth To Adulthood

In the lifetime of a human being, generally, there are two stages, the primary teeth stage and the permanent teeth stage which appear in adulthood.

The teeth are classified as incisors, canines, premolars (bicuspids) and molars. The different kinds of teeth also have varied functionality. The incisors are mainly used for cutting, while canines are used for tearing and molars are for grinding purposes.

The teeth are the hardest substance in the human body besides being the organ for processing the food we eat, they play a prominent role in our speech capabilities too.

The parts of the teeth are the outermost enamel, under which you have the dentin, which is a hard tissue with underlying tubes, then the softer inner layer called pulp which contains the blood vessels and the nerves. The final part is the cementum which binds the root of the teeth to the gums.

Baby Teeth

As the baby teeth appear, we can see that there are 20 first teeth, called primary teeth which appear they include 4 second molars, 4 first molars, 4 cuspids or canine teeth, 4 lateral incisors and 4 central incisors.

The arrangement of teeth is such that for each set of four teeth, two teeth are located in the upper jaw one on each side of the mouth and two are located in the lower jaw one on each side of the mouth.

Permanent Teeth

As the child grows, many changes happen where teeth fall and regrow into permanent teeth. A fully grown adult will have 32 permanent teeth in the mouth. This include 4 third molars or wisdom teeth, 4-second molars, 4 first molars, 4 second bicuspids 4 first bicuspids, 4 cuspids or canines, 4 lateral incisors and 4 central incisors.

Functions of the teeth

The various types of teeth we have are meant for different functions:

Biting and tearing

The central and the lateral incisors are primarily used for eating and cutting while the canines are used for splitting the food.

Grinding and crushing

The premolars, molars and wisdom teeth are primarily used for chewing and grinding of food.

Teeth Structure

Each tooth consists of three main parts the crown, which is right on the top, the enamel covers the crown. The neck is the area between the crown and the root of the teeth and finally the root of the teeth which extends through the gums to the bones of the jaw.

Online Doctors Consultation

Dr.Kumar's Healthcare in Chennai

Corporate Initiative

Partner with Dr.Kumar's Healthcare for your CSR Activities.

Make a Difference

Dr.Kumar's Healthcare in Chennai cares about people


Medical and Non-Medical Volunteers are welcome to join Dr.Kumar's Healthcare and serve people.


Dr.Kumar's Healthcare in Chennai educates best practices in preventive healthcare. 


Though the focus is on orthopaedic speciality the hospital caters to various medical specialities with equal expertise. The Healthcare are delivered by leading medical experts in a patient friendly ambience.


No,35/18, First main Road,
 new Colony,
 Chromepet - 600044
Phn : 08015017011
drkumarhealthcare@gmail.comCLICK TO CALL


Address : 48, Grand Southern Trunk Rd,NEAR D.S.POFFICE, Maduranthakam, Tamil Nadu 603306
drkumarhealthcare@gmail.comCLICK TO CALL


215, Metro Flats, 
Velachery Main Road, 
Sembakkam, (Near MAV Swimming Pool) Chennai - 600 073.


Address: 7, Pammal Main Rd, Muthamizh Nagar, Pammal, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600075
drkumarhealthcare@gmail.comCLICK TO CALL
All Rights Reserved - Dr. Kumars Hospital
Privacy PolicyTerms & Conditions
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram